Local Picketers

Yesterday there was a LGBTQ Pride event in town. It is a really fun celebration in a place where being a part of the LGBTQ community openly is still difficult. The organizers work very hard all year round to put it on. As usual, the Pride event was met with picketing.

As the day of fun and connecting in our small town was followed by a night of fear, pain and the deepest sorrow in Orlando, Florida, my mind returned to those picketers. I would like to address you directly. I would like you to hear me. When you see this man who has committed these unthinkable crimes against those young people in that club, against their loved ones, against all of us;

I hope you see your hate reflected in the hate of that man, and then try to let it go.

I hope you see your ignorance,

Your fear,

Your rigidness,

Your isolation,

Your self-loathing,

And I hope you learn to let it go.

I hope you learn to forgive yourselves. I hope you learn to build bridges. I hope you find peace.

 

Please, don’t share in this hate.

 

 

Understanding

2 thoughts on “Local Picketers”

Leave a Reply

